7 Ventura County schools (not including Ojai Unified) closed Friday, Nov. 1

Due to safety and air quality concerns from the Maria Fire, the following Ventura County school closures have been announced for Friday, Nov. 1:
• Briggs School District
• Hueneme Elementary School District
• Mesa Union School District
• Mupu School District
• Oxnard Union High School District
• Santa Clara Elementary School District
• Santa Paula Unified School District
Charter Schools
• ACE (Camarillo)
• University Preparation (Camarillo)
In addition, the following schools and classrooms operated by the Ventura County Office of Education (VCOE) will be closed on Friday, November 1:
Dwire School, Gateway Community School, James Foster School, La Mariposa School, Las Colinas Middle School, Phoenix Airport, Phoenix Los Nogales, Pleasant Valley Early Childhood Center, Ritchen Preschool, Sunkist School, Triton Academy and Williams Preschool.
In addition, Boswell School, Penfield School and our classrooms at Balboa Middle School and Ventura High School are closed Thursday for their regularly scheduled Fall Break.
The only Ventura County Office of Education schools that will be open Thursday are ACCESS, Ojai TEAMS, Providence School and Triggs School.
A continually updated list of school closures is available at