News

News

Judge tells Ventura city lawyers to slow down on water suit

2 20 21 Ventura City Council copy

In a secret vote on Sept. 9, 2019, the Ventura City Council voted unanimously to sue thousands of Ojai Valley and Ventura residents. The Ojai Valley News filed a Public Records Act request with the city of Ventura to find out when and how the councilmembers voted on the lawsuit. When the Ventura City Council refused to release the information, the Ojai Valley News filed a complaint with the Ventura County District Attorney's Office to get the information, which was finally released on Jan. 27, 2020. 

Ventura City Councilmembers are:

Mayor Sofia Rubalcava, District 1: srubalcava@cityofventura.ca.gov
Voted to sue Ojai Valley and Ventura residents

Councilmember Doug Halter, District 2: dhalter@cityofventura.ca.gov
Elected in November 2020

Councilmember Mike Johnson, District 3: mike.johnson@cityofventura.ca.gov
Elected in November 2020

Councilmember Jim Friedman, District 5: jfriedman@cityofventura.ca.gov
Voted to sue Ojai Valley and Ventura residents

Councilmember Lorrie Brown, District 6: lbrown@cityofventura.ca.gov
 Voted to sue Ojai Valley and Ventura residents

 Deputy Mayor Joe Schroeder, District 7: jschroeder@cityofventura.ca.gov
Elected in November 2020

 
Perry Van Houten, Ojai Valley News senior reporter

The judge in the Santa Barbara Channelkeeper case says the city of Ventura is moving too fast and the state too slow in working toward a settlement.

Register to read more ...

Not a subscriber?  choose your subscription plan.