Film Society honors young filmmakers

web 11 8 HR Ojai Youth Filmmakers 2019 002
Ojai Valley News photo by Holly Roberts
The Ojai Film Society announced the Youth Filmmakers Competition winners during the Ojai Film Festival on Nov. 1 at the Ojai Art Center. Winners of the competition answer questions from the audience about inspiration, execution and their school programs.From left to right: second-prize winner Tristen Lemp, Nordhoff High School (“Dear Future Self)”; Grand Prize winner and Audience Choice Award winner Jackson Williams, Matilija Middle School (at time of award), (“Thirteen”); first-prize winners Harrison Love, Villanova Preparatory, and Maya Mouderres, Matilija Middle School, both members of Ojai Arts Conservatory (“Trapped!”). Not pictured are first-prize winners of “Trapped!” Vanessa Delano, Kadin Mouderres and Nate Schmidt.


The Ojai Film Society sponsors an annual competition for Ojai high school student filmmakers. This year, the 219 winning films are presented for the enjoyment of the high school students attending the festival’s Student Filmmakers Program as well as the festival’s patrons.

Register to read more ...